Theta Chapter

Wilmington, North Carolina

Region IV

The North Carolina State Organization

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International

Welcome to Theta Chapter - Kathryn Batten, Tonia McKoy, Drew Pate, Nakita Thomas, and Shirley Womble!

Upcoming Theta Meetings 2021-2022*

All meetings are planned for Saturdays at 10:30am

January 29, 2022—Light Refreshments

New Hanover County Arboretum, 6206 Oleander Dr, Wilmington, NC

Program: “Native Plants” by Master Gardener Joyce Huguelet

March 19, 2022—Founders Day Luncheon

Fran Russ Recreation Center, WB Park, 3 Bob Sawyer Dr, Wrightsville Beach, NC

Program: Reports from Theta Educator Grant Recipients

Supporting Beginning Teachers At Area Schools

Theta will support BTs at D.C. Virgo Preparatory Academy and Williston Middle School during this school year. The BT Team, part of the EEC, provided encouragement for these teachers during the opening workdays. Connie Marks and Judy Busick delivered bins of school supplies for the BTs and Snack Bags for a BT school meeting. Sylvia Quinn and Judy Busick delivered "Snack Stash Bags" and introduced Theta's BT Support project to BTs. Theta members will receive a list of supplies needed for BT classrooms at our October meeting. Please participate!

Educational Excellence Committee 2021

One of EEC’s goals is to support educators by supporting area children. At the October meeting, the team collected donations to buy cleaning supplies in bulk for our two schools. These supplies will be delivered to the teachers in November. Theta will support the Foster Pantry again this year. For our November meeting we will collect diapers (Preemie, Newborn and Size 5) and baby wipes. In addition, Foster Pantry supplies a Holiday Box for foster families, Since teenagers are often overlooked at Christmas, we will collect $10 gift cards (Walmart, Target, food, etc.) for teens in these families.

At the January meeting we will be collect school supplies to be delivered to the Beginning Teachers in February (Valentine theme for packaging). At our March meeting we will collect items for “Teacher Appreciation” bags to be delivered in May. We would like to incorporate some of their favorite items from their WISH LIST. You will be receive updates on these lists from time to time. Please note if you cannot get your items to a meeting, you may drop them off at Judy’s house (5126 Oriole Dr) during this time.

Our committee recognizes that everyone’s situation is different. These projects are simply opportunities for you to give, if you wish and as you are able.

Connect to NC DKG & DKG International