About Theta

Purpose: To promote professional and personal growth of its members and excellence in education

International Vision: Leading Women Educators Impacting Education Worldwide

Eta State Organized October 27, 1934 in Raleigh, North Carolina

Theta Chapter Organized October 28, 1939 to serve the women of Southeastern North Carolina

Now serving New Hanover, Brunswick and Pender Counties

Motto: “Work of each for all”

Colors: Red and Gold

Flower: Red Rose

Emblem: Key

Theta Charter Members Organized October 28, 1939

Miss Sue Boon

Miss Emma Lossen

Mrs. Josie W. Brock

Mrs. Annie Herring Snipes

Mrs. Charlotte Collett

Miss Hester Struthers

Miss Frances Formy-Duval

Miss Mabel Wessell

Miss Jessie Griffin

Miss Annie May Woodside

Miss Mary Hyman

Mrs. Emma Louise Young

Mrs. Ruth Owens Jones

Presented at the March 19 2022 meeting